GNOME TV

Seems that my recent efforts to promote the GNOME platform are paying off. As I write this, 755 people have seen the Vala kick start tutorial and I have received loads of positive comments.

As a response to that success there are three things I've been doing, first, setting up twitter and identi.ca microblogging accounts for GTK+, follow them in gtktoolkit@identica and gtktoolkit@twitter (credits goes to Javier Jardon for the idea and comaintaining the accounts).

Logo

Second, setting up a Vimeo channel. There are many reasons I'm using Vimeo, first you can have channels for free, second, it provides the best quality video wise which is quite important when you showcase code writing, third, it provides HTML5 (though not through Theora) and most important, you can download the original file if you're logged in (which I'll make sure in the future will be .OGG). If you have a GNOME related video in Vimeo just poke me.

I'm already putting some pieces together for the next video, as a teaser, it'll use one of these new shiny dynamic languages recently added to the GNOME stack.

PS: I'm very excited about the ongoing work and activity happening in the GNOME UX Hackfest at the Canonical offices in London.

Happy hacking!

4 thoughts on “GNOME TV

  1. I added the vimeo rss feed to Gnome Miro Community. I’ll pick up anything that shows up in the feed.
    Also, that Vala video was really great. Vala is on my hitlist of things to play with soon.
    Rock on!

    Like

  2. Thank you dude, you rock. I’m thinking about also doing such tutorial videos in Portuguese, my mother language. Perhaps just following your classes or making my own material, don’t know yet…

    Like

Leave a comment