Back to the kingdom

And not the kingdom of Spain unfortunately (unfortunately because I miss it and because it's still a kingdom). In a few months (not sure about specific dates yet, probably in early 2015) I will be moving back to the United Kingdom, this time to the larger metropolis, London. Don't panic, I will still be with Red Hat, there won't be a lot of changes in that front. In the meantime I will settle back in Gran Canaria and will be flying back and forth on a monthly basis.

I must note that when I made the decision to move to Czech my plan was: "I do not have a plan", just enjoying it and trying to make the best of it without thinking in deadlines as to when to move back to Spain. Red Hat has been a very welcoming company in which I feel just like home and Brno has been a very welcoming city and this is definitively a part of Europe that is worth experiencing. I've met terrific people during this period both inside and outside Red Hat.

There was, however, a little problem.

Something altered the mid-term plans, a few months before I moved, when the decision was already made, I met someone very special with whom now I want to share my life with. After 16 months of  carrying a distant relationship it was due time to find a place where we could be together, after months of planning and considering options, London presented itself as the spot to make the move as she found a pretty good job there.

While I am going to miss sharing the office on a daily basis with awesome people, I am looking forward to this new chapter in my life.

Canary Wharf at Night | London, England, Niko Trinkhaus, (CC by-nc)

I want to note that I am deeply thankful to Christian Schaller for his tremendous amount of support during my stay in Brno and for working with me in figuring ways to balance my professional and personal life. I also wish him the best of luck with his new life in Westford, I'm certainly going to miss him.

On the other hand I guess this means I'll show up at the GNOME Beers in London more often πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Back to the kingdom

  1. Love like that is worth the fight, all changes, etc. You’ve now reached that light at the end of the tunnel. I wish you all the best.
    P.S.: I read this post on the same day that I caught up with Luis de Bethencourt’s blog, and the similarities between your last sentence and his made me giggle. It’s also good to be among old friends πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

