A Boy Named Charlie Brown

DISCLAIMER: This is yet another boring blog post about my childhood.

When I was 5-ish, I used to have loads of VHS with movies both live and animated, one of those VHS had two Asterix & Obelix movies an A Boy Named Charlie Brown. After watching the latest Halloween special from The Simpsons in which there was a Charlie Brown spoof, I had a blast from the past and I managed to get a copy of A Boy Named Charlie Brown, but this time in english.

The story is about how Charlie Brown cannot succeed in anything and suddenly he figures out how good he is in spelling bees, ending up in the national contest representing his school. I forgot how charming that movie was, and nowadays, with some more years in my back I appreciate it a lot more. The move is from 1969 and despite that the animation is stunning, the jazz soundtrack gives a great background and pace, and the songs are quite emotive, something quite different from the Disney factory back in the days.

All in all, a charming movie for both kids and not so kids that will always have a special place in my memories.

3 thoughts on “A Boy Named Charlie Brown

  1. That has been one of my kids favourites for quite some time now. Ever seen a pair of identical three year olds dancing around and singing “Leisure! Seizure! Seize, stein, protein! Weird, either, neither, codeine, caffeine! Siege, however is spelled ‘ie’…”? 🙂

    Like

  2. Alberto,
    I would like to encourage you also to watch A Charlie Brown Christmas which was made 4 years prior.
    It is, in my opinion, a better piece of work than The Christmas Carol and a classic piece of Americana which puts our best foot forward to the rest of the world.
    –Rob

    Like

  3. Alberto,
    I would like to encourage you also to watch A Charlie Brown Christmas which was made 4 years prior.
    It is, in my opinion, a better piece of work than The Christmas Carol and a classic piece of Americana which puts our best foot forward to the rest of the world.
    –Rob

    Like

Leave a Reply

