Call for help – Cherokee 0.6 administration interface

In many regards, Cherokee, besides being one of the faster, it’s probably the most innovative open (and maybe closed as well) source web server out there too. (And no, I don’t think this because it’s developed and maintained by my friend and co-worker alo).

I could give you tons of examples of this, but to be honest, the things that I like the most, it’s its approach towards simplicity and easy of use. Its motto could perfectly be:

"A web server for human beings."

Now, most of the coolest features are already on the SVN trunk waiting for the 0.6 release, but there’s one problem, there’s a show stopper feature not implemented. And probably the most important.

0.6 has been designed with one assumption, users won’t edit the configuration file, Cherokee will provide an administrative interface to do so. When alo told me about this idea, I said, wow, that’s actually what any web server should provide for configuration purposes, it makes a lot of sense.

I’ve been trying to start writing a prototype of the interface using PySCGI (the Cherokee SCGI python implementation) and an AJAX web interface using ExtJS (a widget toolkit written in Javascript and based on the Yahoo UI). So far I’ve only got a grid view with the list of virtual servers, and one you click on one of them, it prints the raw configuration data on another div.

It turns out that I’m a pretty lame web developer, I’m uncomfortable at HTML and JS, I’m quite frustrated, however I’m enjoying the experience of writing the web service side for the asynchronous calls.

So here’s the request for help, we need JS/HTML developers to create the first version of the interface. If you have skills in JavaScript and HTML and you are looking for a project to get your hands dirt on, join the cherokee mailing list or drop me a line to aruiz at gnome dot org and become the legendary Cherokee developer you always wanted to be!

3 thoughts on “Call for help – Cherokee 0.6 administration interface

  1. Glad to see you’re using the Ext framework! I think you’ll love it. As an aside, as of Ext v1.1, the framework is now completely standalone and no longer reliant on other libs such as YahooUI. The cool thing though, is that we’ve written adapters to allow developers of YahooUI, jQuery and Prototype to continue using Ext’s awesome UI components.

    Like

  2. Mmm, sounds insteresting and I’d love to get my hands in some web developing project, I actually like web developing but I’m a very lazy graphic designer… which is not a problem because I know you are a good one 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

